Forest School Activity Cards Review & Giveaway

28th February 2020

Activities outside in the fresh air have become a firm favourite of mine. Those of you who follow my Instagram are used to seeing photos of parks, forests and trees that I love to surround myself whenever I need to recharge or help my son and dog burn off their insane energy.

My son is fast approaching his eighth birthday and I’ve noticed it’s getting harder to get him outdoors. Yes the dreaded screens are fast becoming the only thing that peaks his interest.

I guess I’m lucky as many of his friends have been heavy screen users since toddler stage, but I can’t conveniently lose his tablet for six months at a time anymore as he now looks for it as soon as he walks into the house.

It’s easy to get into a habit of chilling with TV and online games, but now it seems to be his main focus so I’m looking for ways to get him back into real-life physical play.

Forest School Activity Cards

The Forest School Way have created a forest school-themed deck of cards aimed to help parents have fun outdoors with their kids.

The Forest School Activity Cards feature 48 cards that are packed with activities that are divided into four categories; Team Games, Forest Craft, Nature Spotlight and Survival Skills.

The cards have been created by two qualified Forest School teachers, and include games that encourage team work, making things with nature’s materials, exploring nature and learning important survival skills like how to make a fire if you need warmth whilst camping.

Forest School Activity Cards

We’ve been trying out these cards over half term last week, and they’ve been surprisingly good! We explored the Seven Sisters in Sussex and used the ‘Nature’ category cards to help us explore the area in more detail.

Seven Sisters Walk
Can You See The Lighthouse?!

We took walking sticks with us that we made out of sticks we found during a dog walk in a Brighton forest a few days beforehand, and then used the ‘Nature Watch’ card and found a quiet spot to watch nature.

The sea was beautiful that day (whilst the wind was up and down thanks to Storm Dennis) so we were able to observe the waves and how the birds were flying around the cliff edges. This was a great mindfulness exercise and on the walk back we were able to talk about what sounds we had both noticed.

We had a brilliant few hours outside, and it was lovely to spend time facing each other, talking and laughing as we both struggled up the hill in the wind. It took his mind away from electronics and he wasn’t even bothered about them when we got home, so we managed a few games of Ludo!

The cards are quite robust which is handy when you’re using them outside in all weather conditions, and they fit easily in your pocket so you don’t have to carry them all the time.

The cards are available to buy from 14 April 2020 on Amazon* and can be pre-ordered now.

If you can’t wait until then, I have one pack to giveaway below!

The Giveaway (ends 28 March 2020)

UK entrants only. Entrants must be over the age of 18 and all entries will be checked before a winner is randomly selected.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Forest School Activity Cards were given to us to test out for the purpose of this review. No payment was received and all opinions are honest and our own.
*The link to the product on Amazon is an affiliate link to my Amazon Shop. If purchased through this I would earn a small commission.

34 Comments

  • Susan B

    29th February 2020 at 6:52 pm

    We like to collect leaves, twigs, feathers and the like to make collages when we get home. We also like to throw frisbees in the park.

  • Solange

    3rd March 2020 at 12:20 pm

    We love cycling and using our scooters.

  • Keith Hunt

    3rd March 2020 at 2:17 pm

    Go to the local beach with all the hounds

  • kay sherman

    3rd March 2020 at 2:19 pm

    we love doing nature trails

  • Mark Mccaffery

    3rd March 2020 at 3:10 pm

    Exploring the local forest for strange creatures,

  • Kim Neville

    3rd March 2020 at 6:55 pm

    Exploring different parks

  • Angela Treadway

    3rd March 2020 at 8:49 pm

    we like to cycle around x

  • fiona waterworth

    3rd March 2020 at 9:05 pm

    I consider myself very lucky, my children have enjoyed walking in the countryside since old enough to walk, they love spotting the wildlife

  • Rachel Craig

    3rd March 2020 at 11:44 pm

    Walk :- Whether that be a walk in the park, or by the seaside etc. Nice to spend time together outdoors enjoying fine weather, good company, scenery, etc.

  • olga carpenter

    4th March 2020 at 6:29 am

    love going to parks and explore

  • Helen Marshall

    4th March 2020 at 1:52 pm

    We have a couple of forest schools nearby so going to those, or just walking round the park

  • isis1981uk

    4th March 2020 at 7:54 pm

    We love going geocaching!

  • Rachel hockley

    4th March 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Football on the park with my son xx

  • Sarah Mccaffery

    5th March 2020 at 5:02 am

    Beachcombing for colourful shells and other curios.

  • Margaret Gallagher

    5th March 2020 at 10:06 am

    Animal and bird spotting in our local country park

  • claire woods

    8th March 2020 at 1:05 pm

    Going for a country walk

  • David

    8th March 2020 at 2:41 pm

    Going for walks in the woods is a lovely thing to do with children as they can have fun running around and exploring.

  • ashleigh allan

    8th March 2020 at 8:02 pm

    A woodland walk!

  • jodie w

    9th March 2020 at 8:47 pm

    Going on a bug hunt, although we recently had a chance to try geocaching which was great fun

  • Mark R

    9th March 2020 at 9:02 pm

    Beachcombing for driftwood, fossils and sea glass, as well as picking up plastic

  • amy watson

    11th March 2020 at 7:40 pm

    over the years my sons (3 various ages) have made dens, trails with sticks, hunted for different leaves and all sort. i would love a chance to win these cards for my youngest son

  • Ruth Harwood

    12th March 2020 at 9:07 am

    We love walking down by the river on the old rail track looking at the flowers and trees, the kids love collecting flowers x

  • Tips for Teaching Your Child About the Coronavirus (Covid-19) & How They Can Reduce Risks of Getting or Spreading It – Single Parent Pessimist

    16th March 2020 at 7:52 pm

    […] be using Forest School Activity Cards now my son is not at school, as a way for us to get out of the house and do something educational […]

  • Natalie S

    21st March 2020 at 3:14 pm

    Hiking and playing I Spy!

  • melody cross

    21st March 2020 at 9:20 pm

    woodlands walks with the dog

  • justine meyer

    23rd March 2020 at 1:51 pm

    Collecting leaves for projects and trying to identify wildflowers

  • Donna W

    25th March 2020 at 5:26 pm

    We were lucky to have a little break in Dorset a couple of weeks ago and we spent hours walking along the beack finding ammonite fossils. My dinosaur-obsessed little boy was in his element!

  • Josephine Pett

    26th March 2020 at 8:32 am

    Walking and finding interesting things which open the imagination or pose questions on what or why

  • Elizabeth Yeates

    27th March 2020 at 7:00 am

    I love a beach walk with some rockpooling and shell collecting!

  • Laura Whittle

    27th March 2020 at 12:27 pm

    Playing hide and see in the woods x

  • min

    27th March 2020 at 12:40 pm

    Go for a picnic in our local park

  • Astrid C

    27th March 2020 at 3:39 pm

    ideally the seaside always!

  • danosgood

    27th March 2020 at 7:31 pm

    Jump in muddy puddles

  • Dean Perry

    28th March 2020 at 12:45 am

    We love nature trails ?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Prev Post Next Post